An Offroad escape to Manor – Jawar

Posted: January 18, 2009 in Short Tours, Touring, West India
Tags: , , ,

Title: An Offroad escape to Manor – Jawar
Location: Manor – Jawar, Maharashtra, India
Date: 18 Jan, 2009

Due to some work today, I was not able to ride to Pavana Dam, Lonavla. I desperately wanted to visit the dam but luck & work plays an important role in ur destiny. Sittin at home on a sunday and doin nothin but watchin some crap movies was not on my things to do list. Had planned to learn some martial arts from Mr. Akshay Kumar in “Chandni Chowk to China” but many friends advised me to donate the money for their expenses instead of movie tickets.

Autum by the road

Autum by the road

Autumn by the road, a leaf less tree but not life less.

Autumn by the road, a leaf less tree but not life less.

So wht option does God leave me with on a pleasant sunday, no doubt a ride. With no petrol in tank & no money & no destination in mind in wallet I started the bike. A friend of mine was to accompany me on this ride & finance me, she too was frustrated sitting at home on a pleasant yet boring sunday. We decided to ride on the route from Manor till Jawar (Maharashtra, India). This is a deserted road which leads to Nasik, it goes through Jawar, Trimbekeshwar leads to nashik. One needs to take a right from NH4 (Mumbai – Ahemedabad) near Manor Telephone exchange, locals would help you find the route. The route is not that serene but as it is remote there is sparse traffic on the route. One can peacefully cruise on this road enjoying the cool breeze.

...........

...........

I had earlier been on this road with anup & shiva some 2 – 3 moths back & we had names a place “Cow Killer Point” a beautifully cliff some 10 km’s from Jawar. Today we didnt have ny destination as such so we decided to shift from the main road to the inner village roads. There was a village, I guess the name was “Nilshej” not sure bout it though, we took a left & hit a small road wide enough for a jeep to passss (Jst forget a buses or trucks). As usual villagers were starring at us, a person on a bike with a helmet & even the pillion with a helmet is a rear view in such areas. The road became narrower & narrower and started branching out. Dead end, the bridge ahead was broken & me & my partner were too desperate to move on. Did some offroadin & river crossing, yaaa the unicorn can handle this & were on the other side & zommin through a 5ft wide road. Were some 10 km ahead & decided to head back on the highway. The road was not a straight path & had many branches I didnt want to get lost in a tribal area with a girl with me.

The blue sky & my unicorn.

The blue sky & my unicorn.

Unicorn by the lake

Unicorn by the lake

Back on the main road we were doin odd 60-70 kmph & enjoin the well banked corners & the cool breeze with a rural background. My friend wanted to go sit by some pond or river for sometime but I was reluctant to stop nywhere. We again were on a some rural bylane 7ft wide & climbin some mountain. There was a river passin by & couldnt resist the offroadin temptation. The was a small path downhill leadin to the river. Carefully manuvered the bike to the banks of the river with a pillion with me, didnt want to fall in front of a girl :D:D. We parked the bike at some distance & walked by the shore. A quick assessment of the river & there were more beautiful places ahead on the river bed, so we headed to chk those out. Hopped on the bike & started riddin on some rubble & grass, the only thing in my mind was, plz plz no puncture. This area is so remote tht you would have to drag the bike some 10-15 kms until you find a mech or someone to repair the puncture. We hit a dead end in 10 mins, now we had to walk :(, walk whtz tht. Since I bought the Unicorn 8 months back ive completely quit walkin, need to do somethin otherwise ill become another techie with a belly & a unicorn to blame. Jokes apart we started walkin, there were some village women washin clothes, thtz fine. 50 steps more & there were some women takin bath (naked), plz GOD save me I didnt see nythin plz dont kill me. This was wht goin on in my mind. I told my firiend tht we should return or the villagers would kill us but she didnt budge a bit. She was laughin at me, “You are the fist male on earth prayin, no more naked women, the rest pray for the opposite”. Finally after a difficult trek we found a cool shady place by the banks to sit and have a chat. The water was not tht good but itz really difficult to explain tht to girls. We trekked back to the bike, I was a bit scared tht the bike would be without a engine or tyres or there would be no bike at all but the unicorn was jst fine. I was 5.30 and we decided to head back home before it was dark. I dont have many pics from this ride ppl. All pics are taken from my 2MP phone camera (which does not has a carl zeiss) my SLR was with anup (hope he has some good pics to show off).

Photo Courtesy: Koustubh Shenai.

Leave a Reply

