My new ride – Pulsar 220 DTSi – The Offroading Beast

Posted: June 1, 2010 in Touring
After 3 months of processing and struggling to take all the necessary approvals from my family & my fiancee, Im now a proud owner of a Pulsar 220 DTSi. This new world is very very different from the Honda world im used to.
For the past 2 years ive being living on planet Honda , wid by 150cc Unicorn & my journey into the biking world has been quite smooth. Wid one of the best engines available today in the Indian Market, the Honda Unicorn backs the pagent of the most reliable babe in its category. I have been riding the Unicorn for last 2 years / 45,000 km  widout any performance issues or any other problems. Useage patter 75% log distance rides/touring – 25% city comute. Ive done Hampi, Rajasthan…. & also Saddlesore on my Unicorn. For the last 3 months the Uni was giving me engine problems. Milegae would sometimes drop to 10Kmpl, the bike would not go more than 83.5 Kmph (No speedo prob). Had decided to use the Unicorn for some more months & then take a new ride.
My Unicorn, Itz not mine nymore

My Unicorn, Itz not mine nymore

The Red Beast

The Red Beast

Why the Pulsar 220 DTSi & not the R15. The Unicorn is one of the best bike in the Indian market compared to reliability along with the new Suzuki. The engine is soo smooth that you dont knw if the bike is On/Off, u need to throttle up n chk. Its soo silent that you feel you are riding a electric scooter wen an RTR overtakes you. There are no vibes at all. The engine is an exact opposite of Lean & Mean, its too reliable. Im actually fed up of the softer nature of the Unicorn & wanted more aggression in my life. The R15 is a bike I admire but 2nd, 3rd & 5th gear of the bike really suck. O n these 3 gears dont knw where the power suddenly disappears, so didnt go for the R15.

Booked my Pulsar 220 on Friday with the help of a local dealer called Kamal. The Pro Biking  Rs 3500 – 4000  extra, as a premium. As Sunday was Akshaya Triti, I want the bike delivered on Sunday, mom wanted it actually. I had purchased my Unicorn from Kamal so contacted him & asked him to see if he could help. From selling the bike to getting the Transfer of the Unicorn, bank NOC, PO from Andheri PBK for the 220 was done in one day i.e Friday. Saturday the bike was ready n waiting at Sai Service godown in Vasai. I had insisted tht I take the delivery directly from the godown & didnt want any stupid rider to drive the bike before I could touch/feel it. Its a very different feeling wen you go to pickup the bike from the godown & not the PBK. A line of all Pulsars lined up along the wall to say goood bye & best of luck to a bike which was one of them yesterday & now today has a owner. We had yet not selected the color & my fiancée was present wid me to select it. Frankly speaking, I didnt like ny color tht Pulsar’s come in. We were looking for the grey but as it had a 6 month waiting we decided to go for the Red beauty.

On the highway

On the highway

IRC Tyres

IRC Tyres

Gorgeous red beauty

Gorgeous red beauty

The Read beast offroad

The Read beast offroad

I guess in Bajaj problems start before taking deliveries, the DTSi logo on the engine was coming out. Got it fixed by the store in charge. They the big shock, the fairing had vibes & the gaps near the tank were not symmetric. After some discussion wid the store in charge was able to convince him that there was a problem & he either needed to rectify it before delivery or issue me a new bike. Wid not expertise to repair the bike he issued the a new one. Tested it first for ny deffects & then told him to get it ready for delevery. It had some scratches on the silencer but didnt have much options, either the IRC or no Scratches. There were only 3 bikes in the godown wid IRC tyres, all the new lot that had come was having MRF Zapper fitted on it. Was lucky to get the IRC option. It took 2hrs to get the bike ready, & finally around afternoon the bike was in my hands. This was the first time I rode a P220 in my life. The beauty is mind blowing & the beast underneath begs to allow it to roar.

Got the bike out of Sai Service & took bike for a spin on the highway. Completed 400Kms on the same day with a lil offroading.

Comments
  1. Niranjan Vaidya says:

    Hey Cos, Congratulations for your new red beast and yes…get rid of the saree guard…it looks hideous.

  2. mumbaispeaks says:

    Tht Saree guard stuff being true, but on the Red Beast sits a White Beauty who wears saree’s, which if spoiled would cost me a months sal 🙂

    The most annoying part is the main stand, wanna fix tht. Ny ideas?

  3. […] My new ride – Pulsar 220 DTSi – The Offroading Beast June 2010 2 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

